St. Louis Area Physics Teachers High School Physics Contest History of the First Twenty-Five Years

This contest was born as the St. Louis University High School Physics Contest when it was first hosted in 1986 by Larry Stacey of St. Louis University. SLU hosted it until 2003, when it was hosted by Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville under the direction of Tom Foster. In its 25th year, it was hosted by Frank Cange at Southwestern Illinois College in Belleville.

						Honorable			
		Number	Number			Mention			
		of	of	Avg.Score	High	Cutoff			
Year	Host Site	Schools	Students	out of 50	Score	Score	1st Place School	2nd Place School	3rd Place School
1986	SLU	16	159	26.8	50	37	Vianney	John Burroughs	Webster Groves
1987	SLU	23	164	20.3	44	26	Chaminade	Gibault	John Burroughs
									Clayton/Bellevile
1988	SLU	22	183	19.1	40	25	Ladue	Parkway West	West (tie
1989	SLU	23	233	21.5	46	31	John Burroughs	Vianney	O'Fallon
1990	SLU	24	220	20.5	42	27	Kirkwood	John Burroughs	O'Fallon
1991	SLU	23	213	20.6	44	26	Parkway West	SLU High	Pattonville
									John Burroughs/
									Webster Groves
1992	SLU	22	170	18.7	47	24	O'Fallon	Clayton	(tie)
								SLU High/ Webster	
1993	SLU	23	252	17.2	43	21	Clayton	Groves (tie)	O'Fallon
1994	SLU	24	243		45	24	Clayton	O'Fallon	SLU High
1995	SLU	23	300		42	23	Clayton	Lafayette	SLU High
1996	SLU	23	239	17.1	44	25	O'Fallon	Clayton	Webster Groves
1997	SLU	26	295		47	27	Clayton	Kirkwood	Webster Groves
1998	SLU	24	305		46	32	Clayton	Priory	SLU High
1999	SLU	22	22	20.9	42	26	Clayton	Parkway West	Ladue
2000	SLU	20	235				Clayton	SLU High	Webster Groves
2001	SLU	20	207		43	26	Clayton	Webster Groves	Parkway South
2002	SLU	20	174				Clayton	Parkway West	Parkway South
								Parkway South	
2003	SLU	14	138				Clayton	/MICDS (tie	Kirkwood

In 2004, the contest moved to Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville, Hosted by Tom Foster. Continuing with the tradition of the St. Louis University version, the 2004 test had a single 50 question test, but additional "Sir Isaac Newton" awards were given for students who did well on the mechanics portion of the test.

Year	Host Site	Number of Schools	-	Avg.Score out of 50		Honorable Mention Cutoff Score	1st Place School	2nd Place School	3rd Place School
2004	SIUE	7	25		34	28	Clayton	Parkway South	

In 2005, Tom Foster of SIUE added a second tier to the competition. The 2005 contest included two divisions--A 50 question Mechanics Division which included only mechanics topics and a 50 question Senior Division which included questions over a broad range of physics topics. The addition of the Mechanics Division is thought to be a major factor in a boost in participation that occured in 2005, after an all-time low number of participants in 2004.

	1							I	1
	Host Site/	Number of	Number of	Avg.Score	High	Honorable Mention Cutoff			
Year	Division	Schools	Students	out of 50	Score	Score	1st Place School	2nd Place School	3rd Place School
2005	SIUE	7	100						
	Mechanics			27.7	40	35	Parkway South	Clayton	Belleville West
	Senior			31.8	43	34	Clayton	Parkway South	Belleville West
2006	SIUE	7	46						
	Mechanics			26.6	44	27	Parkway South	Helias	
	Senior			34	47	36	Clayton	Westminster Chr.	
2007	SIUE	7	64						
	Mechanics			25.6	48	29	Helias	Parkway South	McCluer North
	Senior			26	43	32	Clayton	Westminster Chr.	Carbondale/ Trinity (tie)
2008	SIUE	8	80						
	Mechanics			25.9	48	32	Helias	Carbondale	McCluer North
	Senior			25.4	43	29	Clayton	Helias	Carbondale
2009	SIUE	8	65						
	Mechanics			35.5	45	40	Helias	Parkway South	Carbondale
	Senior			25.4	43	29	Carbondale	Clayton	Parkway South

In 2010, SIUE was unable to host the competition, and it looked like the contest would not see its 25 year anniversary. Frank Cange wasn't about to let that happen. With less than three weeks notice, Frank began looking for another host site. After rejections from other institutions, Frank was able to convince Southwestern Illinois College to serve as a host site for the 25th annual St. Louis Area Physics Teachers High School Physics Contest. Frank, Rex Rice, and Gabe de la Paz did the leg work to get exams and award certificates prepared, and the 2010 contest went ahead on May 1, 2010 at SWIC. The participation was remarkably good given the short notice. The Mechanics Division examination for the 2010 contest had 100 questions instead of the usual 50. The senior division continued with the

Year	Host Site/ Division	Number of Schools	Number of Students	Avg.Score out of 50	High Score	Honorable Mention Cutoff Score	1st Place School	2nd Place School	3rd Place School
2010	SWIC	7	60	46.9					
	Mechanics			29	84/100	66/100	Helias	Clayton	Webster Groves
	Senior			25.1/50	41/50	29/50	Clayton	Parkway South	Trinity Catholic